According to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, first-time drivers must pass a Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) course, which is, in other terms, driver’s ed.
What Do You Need to Get a Driver’s License in Florida?
In addition to taking and passing a driver’s education course, you will also need to fulfill several other requirements, depending on your age.
Requirements to Obtain a Learner’s License in FL
To receive a learner’s license, you must be at least 15 years old. If you’re under 18, you need a signed and notarized parental consent form. You will be required to provide proof that you have completed a TLSAE course. You’ll need to pass a hearing and vision test as well. In addition, you must pass the Class E Knowledge Exam and provide documents that prove your identity and residential address.
Requirements for Teens to Get a Driver’s License
In order to obtain your FL driver’s license, you have to be at least 16 years old. If you are under 18, you must hold a learner’s license for at least 12 months first. New drivers must complete 50 hours of supervised driving experience, 10 of which must be at night.
A teen cannot have any moving violation convictions during the year after their learner’s license was issued. One violation is acceptable if adjudication was withheld. You will be required to pass the Class E Driving Skills Test as well. In all instances, you will need to prove your Social Security number in addition to your address and identity.
Fulfill Driver’s License Requirements with Autosafety Driving School
Our instructors have been training drivers for decades. We make sure that every student who completes our courses is properly prepared for licensure. Don’t delay — we often have a waiting list. Call Auto Safety Driving School now at (813) 875-4809.